ZooKeepers’ Youngblood named to All-CPL First Team

Asheboro’s Trent Youngblood was among those honored as members of the All-Coastal Plain League First Team. The honors were announced this past weekend by the league. The first and second All-CPL teams were voted on by head coaches.

Youngblood, who also earned CPL All-Star honors, was named the the All-CPL First Team as a utility player. Youngblood hit .344 for the ZooKeepers this past summer, which was tied for second-best in the league. He added 36 runs scored, four home runs and 33 RBIs. He also recorded 15 stolen bases.

The all-league team is highlighted by CPL Hitter of the Year Ben Watson of the Morehead City Marlins, and Pitcher of the Year Dalton Pence of the Forest City Owls.

The Marlins led the league with 10 selections, followed by Savannah (8) and Holly Springs (6). Wilmington and Wilson each had five players honored, while Peninsula and Tri-City were next with four apiece. High Point-Thomasville and Martinsville sported three selections with Forest City, Lexington County and Macon featuring two each. Asheboro and Florence each had one to round things out.

Below is the complete list for both the First and Second Team All-CPL players:

First Team

C – Indy Stanley (Savannah / Columbia)
1B – Brock Vradenburg (Lexington County / Michigan State)
2B – McGwire Tuffy (Morehead City / Quinnipiac)
3B – Eli Weisner (High Point-Thomasville / Louisburg College)
SS – Andrew Ciufo (Wilmington / Georgetown)

DH/UTL – Trent Youngblood (Asheboro / Transylvania)
DH/UTL – Will Butcher (Forest City / Charlotte)
DH/UTL – Trey Morgan (Peninsula / Virginia Military Institute)
DH/UTL – Eric Grintz (High Point-Thomasville / North Carolina)
DH/UTL – Brandon Eike (Tri-City / North Carolina)

OF – Ben Watson (Morehead City / Elizabethtown College)
OF – Cameron Pittman (Martinsville / Radford)
OF – Sean Johnson (Morehead City / Belmont Abbey)
OF – Armando Becerra (Savannah / Erskine)
OF – Mason Sykes (Wilson / Toledo)
OF – Drew Yniesta (Savannah / Lenoir-Rhyne)
OF – Nate Carriere (Holly Springs / Lamar)

LHP – Dalton Pence (Forest City / North Carolina)
RHP – Tyler Wehrle (Morehead City / Tiffin)
RHP – Jared Donalson (Savannah / Georgia Southwestern)
LHP – Jay Cassady (Peninsula / Christopher Newport)
RHP – Jared Kollar (Morehead City / Rutgers)
RHP – Cade Carlson (Martinsville / East Tennessee State)
RHP – Matt Hickey (Morehead City / Tarleton State)
LHP – Logan Garza (Morehead City / Texas A&M – Kingsville)
RHP – Reece Wissinger (Morehead City / Southeastern)
LHP – Michael Foltz (Holly Springs / Duke)
LHP – Brendan Bean (Morehead City / Pennsylvania)

Second Team

C – Robert Brooks (Holly Springs / Columbus State)
1B – Mason Landers (Wilmington / Belmont)
2B – Gavin Troutman (Holly Springs / Lock Haven)
3B – Jacob McCaskey (Wilson / California Univ. of Pennsylvania)
SS – Justin Johnson (High Point-Thomasville / Lafayette College)

DH/UTL – Beau Brewer (Savannah / Paris JC)
DH/UTL – AJ Mendolia (Wilmington / Central Arkansas)
DH/UTL – Mason Minzey (Macon / Ohio)
DH/UTL – Ty Swaim (Peninsula / Virginia Military Institute)
DH/UTL – Cade Swisher (Tri-City / Virginia Tech)

OF – Trey Paige (Wilson / Delaware State)
OF – Will Hardee (Florence / Francis Marion)
OF – Willie Havens (Tri-City / Elon)
OF – Bryce Matthews (Macon / Washington State)
OF – Mason Manners (Morehead City / Jacksonville State)
OF – Brett Callahan (Holly Springs / St. Joseph’s)
OF – Ty Jackson (Savannah / East Georgia)

RHP – Hayden Snelsire (Tri-City / Randolph-Macon)
RHP – Carson Starnes (Lexington County / North Carolina)
LHP – Carson Dorsey (Savannah / Gulf Coast State College)
RHP – Joe Sperone (Wilmington / West Chester)
RHP – Trent Harris (Wilson / UNC Pembroke)
LHP – Nate Varnier (Peninsula / William Peace)
RHP – Leo Giannoni (Holly Springs / Columbus State)
LHP – Caleb McRoy (Martinsville / Duke)
RHP – Caiden Wood (Wilmington / Seton Hill)
RHP – Brent Francisco (Wilson / East Stroudsburg)
RHP – Nolan Daniel (Savannah / Purdue)